The Dilemma

I have a constant battle that occurs in my mind. I try desperately not to let it steep out, but it is every present. The battle goes something like this:

I want to savor my life. All the small moments matter. All the things that are intangible hold great significance. Those pieces that make up each day…those matter.

But I also want to be “caught up.” I want to feel like my ever-present to-do list is complete…or at least complete enough.

Each weekend I spend time thinking about how I can procrastinate just one thing, how it will be okay on Monday morning if this thing is not done. I convince myself I need to spend more time with my family, that my daughter only has 3 1/2 more years left to live with us.

So you see, the dilemma is rich and is a no-win set up: if I savor, there is no time because I am catching up. If I am “caught up” there is no time to savor because I’m constantly working.

So how about this? I don’t procrastinate. I savor my moments when they come, and I get done what I can. This feels so much kinder and gentler. After all, why does it HAVE to be one or the other?

Please comment on how you survive this dilemma in your own life.

13 thoughts on “The Dilemma

  1. Hi Molly! Isn’t this question the million dollar one? I have so many connections to your piece today. I was frustrated this morning that the weekend went away in the blink of an eye…such a good reminder to enjoy and prioritize what’s important. Really important. Hope you are well.
    Keith

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post certainly rang true with me! Lately, I have been not taking work home from school, and I have been “getting caught up” like a grading machine during my prep times. It is difficult, but necessary. Although tonight I broke my own rule. I brought a little bit of work home. I will try and finish it while I watch “The Voice.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not sure anyone doing the best they can in all areas of life achieves balance and really figures out how to get things done. Perhaps savoring the moment is about truly being present to each moment whether grading a paper or hiking with family. Still, though, I know with 118 students my presence is spread thinly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

