Week of Gratitude: Day 5

This year I started a new job. One I have been dreaming of for many years. I had it manifested inside of my mind, inside of my heart for many years before it actually came to be. I never knew if this new job would ever be possible, but it is something I worked towards for many years.

I get to work as an Instructional Coach at the high school where I teach. A big part of my job is working with groups of teachers during their professional learning community time on Wednesday mornings. Each of our departments meets together to become better instructors. While sometimes the meetings get sidetracked with other business that must be accomplished, this is the goal of the PLC time: to become better instructors through collaboration.

When people ask me what I am most surprised by in my new job, I tell them that I am most inspired by the teachers I work with. I am so amazed at the number of teachers in my school who honestly want to work on the craft of teaching in order to do what is good for our students.

This fact inspires me: to see the number of people in our building who deeply believe not just in the power of education, but who study their craft so they can allow themselves to make the greatest impact on their students.

I feel grateful that I get to see this impact in action on a daily basis. Teachers who come in to my office to talk out a lesson. Teachers who come in to figure out how to work with a group of students. Teachers who need to talk about how to make improvements. Teachers who are frustrated by the emphasis on testing over learning. Teachers who simply need to hear someone question and push so they can go back to their classrooms to be the best they can be.

I get to see this in action and it inspires me to continue to work on my own craft, to be the best educator I can be. I am grateful for the people I get the privilege to work with every day.

Leave a Reply

