That Pedagogical Push

At this time in my career I am most thankful that I have had people who believe in my capabilities and who push me in the craft of teaching. I feel like this year has become a culmination of awesome gifts I have been given in my career.

On Monday I was offered a new position at my school as a staff developer and data queen. I have been advocating for this for a long time and I’m excited to get an opportunity to work with my colleagues and push their thinking in the way mine has been.

It’s funny- I was just talking to a colleague last week telling her that I feel like I’m at a point in my career where I want to start giving back. To whom much is given much is expected, right?

I am thankful for the National Writing Project because without this group I think I might be a lost and very frustrated teacher. The fact that I get to work with people from around the country is beyond compare. I feel so lucky to be able to do this.

I am thankful that I get to work with amazing people at my school. I am pushed by them every day and we have incredible pedagogical discussions.

I am grateful that I am pushed to be a better person by my students every day. While I never know what I’m going to get, I mostly get amazing thinking and questions and laughter and fun.

Leave a Reply

