You’re right.

 

In lieu of doing an entire blog today, and since it’s National Poetry Month, I’m going to post a poem I wrote a couple of weeks ago. I got into a small scuffle with a student, and this poem was my reply:

You’re right.
I don’t know you.
Nor you, me.

But we travel
In the same space…
Together.

You come to school
Each day
To…

Learn.

I teach.

You sit
In the corner
Surrounded
By those who
Back

You

Up.

I stand in front
Of the classroom

Alone.

But really-
You teach
Me.
I am here
To learn.

So please
Help me…
Learn

To know

You.

One thought on “You’re right.

Leave a Reply

